Monday, August 4, 2008

Observer Recommendations for Primary Election

Monday, August 4 was the deadline for people in Arizona to be registered to vote in Arizona’s primary election which the polls will be open Tuesday, September 2.

This election will determine the party’s standard bearers for various political offices from the federal (Congressional) level to local posts.

Unlike Arizona’s presidential primary that took place on February 5, this primary election is an “open” one, meaning that registered independents, others, or no party preference are eligible to vote in this election by requesting a party’s ballot either at the polls or prior.

During this time, now until September 2, candidates and campaigns are trying to convince voters to cast their ballots for their bid for office, either at the polls or prior through early voting which started on July 31.

With that mind, the Observer has compiled a list of recommended candidates for office (using statements, position papers and voting records), who are running in contested elections, that the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) and HIV/AIDS communities will benefit from if these individuals are successful in their primary contest as well as the November general election.

For this list of recommendations, there are no Republicans to recommend since it was the GOP who hasn’t changed their tune on issues of concern to the LGBT and HIV/AIDS communities.

Case in point, Arizona’s Republican led state Legislature sponsored and passed legislation placing a proposed state constitutional amendment to define marriage as “a union between one man and one woman” on the November general election ballot despite current law and court precedent. When the GOP becomes more open-minded and supportive of issues of concern to the LGBT and HIV/AIDS communities, this publication will consider such races but until then, here is the list for the September 2, primary election.

Arizona Corporation Commission: Kara Kelty (D), Sandra Kennedy (D), Paul Newman (D).

Arizona State House - Legislative District 27: Phil Lopes (D), Olivia Cajero-Bedford (D).

Arizona State House - Legislative District 29: Tom Prezelski (D), Matt Heinz (D).

Pima County Board of Supervisors - District 2: Ramon Valadez (D).

Pima County Board of Supervisors - District 3: Sharon Bronson (D).

Constable - Justice Precinct 6 - Robert W. Cox Sr. (D).

For polling place information or to request an early ballot, call the Pima County Recorder’s office (520) 740-4330 or go online to and follow the links.

No comments: